Skip to Content

Keynote Featuring University Presidents: ASU, Michael M. Crow; Ohio State University, Kristina Johnson; UMBC, Freeman A. Hrabowski

Session Overview

This video was part of the July 2021 REMOTE: The Connected Faculty Summit

Please join us for the Opening Remarks and Keynote Session with ASU President Michael M. Crow, Ohio State University, President Kristina Johnson and UMBC President, Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski as they discuss the future of higher education, lessons from COVID and how higher education institutions have adapted.


Michael M. Crow

President | Arizona State University

Michael M. Crow became the sixteenth president of Arizona State University on July 1, 2002. He is guiding the transformation of ASU into one of the nation’s leading public metropolitan research universities, an institution that combines the highest levels of academic excellence, inclusiveness to a broad demographic, and maximum societal impact—a model known as the “New American University. ASU simultaneously demonstrates comprehensive institutional excellence, inclusivity representative of the ethnic and socioeconomic diversity of the United States, and collaborative problem-solving dedicated to consequential societal impact. Dr. Crow has committed the university to sustainability, social embeddedness, and global engagement, and championed initiatives leading to record levels of student diversity. During his tenure, research expenditures at ASU have increased more than five-fold, the university has completed an unprecedented infrastructure expansion, and has been chosen the nation’s most innovative school by U.S. News & World Report for the last six years.

Dr. Freeman A. Hrabowski

President | UMBC

Kristina M. Johnson, PhD

President | Ohio State University

Dr. Kristina M. Johnson is the 16th president of The Ohio State University.
An engineer, inventor and entrepreneur, Dr. Johnson brings with her to the Buckeye State more than 30 years of experience and leadership in the academic, business and public policy sectors. Most recently, she was chancellor of the State University System of New York, which includes 64 public colleges and universities, four academic health centers, five hospitals and a U.S. Department of Energy National Laboratory. Prior to this, she founded and led several successful science and technology companies, served as under secretary of energy at the U.S. Department of Energy and held numerous leadership and academic roles at universities across the nation.

Throughout her career in higher education, she has consistently worked to advance student success, build partnerships with industries and communities, and create inclusive opportunities for those traditionally underrepresented among the ranks of university students, faculty and staff.

Dr. Johnson has published nearly 150 refereed papers and proceedings and holds more than 100 U.S. and international patents. Her pioneering work in microdisplays and color-polarizing technology earned her recognition from the National Inventors Hall of Fame as well as the John Fritz Medal — among the most prestigious honors in engineering whose past awardees include George Westinghouse, Thomas Edison and Orville Wright.

The recipient of numerous other awards and recognitions, Dr. Johnson is also a member or fellow of several professional societies, including the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Inventors, the International Society for Optical Engineering and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
Dr. Johnson earned her BS, MS and PhD in electrical engineering at Stanford University, where she was a varsity athlete in field hockey and founded the club varsity lacrosse team.